Spring Job Fair Review 16′

untitled

The University of Central Arkansas hosted a career fair for students Wednesday, March 2, 2016 in the Student Center Ballroom. As usual, the University recycle career services every other year so there isn’t many businesses to choose from. It fairly met my expectations because I thought that I would be able to talk to a few journalism representatives but I only met with one. A reason why the fair only fairly met my expectations is because there isn’t usually enough businesses to choose from as  I stated and certainly not for Mass Communication managers. However, I did meet with some great businesses. The representatives talked about their businesses and I brought my resume and portfolio to be prepared for a great deal! Although the experience was a great deal. I gained a lot of information about some fields I didn’t know anything about and upon talking with the representatives I thought about going into retail and marketing.

52b258_1d0321583d0a4b42a246d4e9a08fa534

I did meet with a journalism type business called “Inuvo.” Luckily,  Jordan the previous editor for The Fountain Magazine online that I used to write for was at the fair so he was familiar with my work. The business is located in Little Rock, Arkansas and it is a digital publishing and advertising technology company. My major emphasis for Mass Communications is Online Journalism so the job description was just what I was looking for. I think the business is so unique and the reason I’m interested is because it is so diverse. The team consist of writers, designers, marketers, developers etc. so I think that certain meet and greet went great. I could use some great experience there to get my foot in the door to the journalism world before landing a big time fashion magazine gig in New York.

Lastly, something I would change about the career fair would be the fact that it’s so claustrophobic and add more careers to choose from for juniors and seniors. I do think the idea is a great opportunity to Network and get your name out there. I feel good!

#Journalism #CareerFair #UCA #Inuvo #Fashion #Magazine #NY

 

Leave a comment